RSS

Life and Niggery

10 Jun

Now don’t get me wrong I love my people, but sometimes I just gotta shake my head and go “niggas.”  I’m quite sure every black person reading this knows what I’m talking about and if you don’t the video below should help shed some light on what I mean.  It’s kind of similar to the “this nigga here” moments.  Though most of the time the “this nigga here” moment responds to some dumb shit that may be happening.  Like the guy or gal you see trying to conceal some shit and smuggle it out of a store, then you have to leave that area before you get implemented by way of skin color association and have to pull out the old “I don’t know that nigga.”  There is also the “white people” moments, those are when white folks just do some dumb shit that makes no sense to them you or anybody else.  Spray on tanning would be a good example of this.  In any case I posted a head shake “niggas” moment below, not a “this nigga here” moment but close.  I think I’ll feature videos of niggery on this on this blog on occasion, because damn, my people fo real  😉

As for poetics, I finished my ekphrastic poems and sent them to Jenny.  They’re going to be apart of an art gallery in Pilsen.  I had never heard of this event and guess I have incentive to go now.  Free and free parking, I’m all about that mos def.  I’ve come to notice that a lot of my most recent work are in a sense list poems.  Again something I don’t want to do, but it’s been happening.  I’ll just go with it I suppose, not happy about it but whatever, I’ll just take it to be a transition into something else. I’m just going with the flow, not really fighting or going against the grain with anything. I’ve gotten into the mindset that things have been happening to me for some sort of reason whether I know what those reasons are or not right now.  The last couple years most things that have happened to me have kind of been by happenstance.  Finding my apartment, jobs, roles as movie extras, girlfriend (or lady friend as colleagues at Truman know me to say ;-)), random CTA passes in the street, bluetooth earpiece (again in the street), probably some other things, but those stand out to me as I write.  I can honestly say that none of the above in the script when I first moved to Chicago in 2007.  Hell even in 2009 for that matter.  I was all about finishing grad school and peacing (I have no idea how to make “peace” a gerund) the hell out.  But her I be.  I can tell right now I’m going to be that old man that tells stories about how life sent him in the most unexpected directions.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
